Bravery Awards for Aerial Combat

Bravery Awards for Aerial Combat

Stories behind the award of the CGM (Flying)

Alan W. Cooper

Publication date:
March 2008
Publisher :
Pen and Sword
No associated books available.


The first recipient was Flight Sergeant Leslie Wallace, a wireless operator with 83 Squadron, who extinguished a major fire in his Lancaster and despite his severe wounds returned to his radio until the crippled aircraft returned to England.

The final CGM was awarded to Flight Sergeant John Couglan in Vietnam, when he assisted boarding casualties in the face of heavy fire from the Vietcong. In between there are a host of tales that recount incredible feats of courage.

Lengthy appendices list recipients of the medal and other statistics concerning the award.